A Few Things to Remember

thanksgiving

How do I take this perfect second and lock it away in a tiny box so I can keep it forever? Just one of the million times a day I kiss your cheeks, because I can’t help but kiss your cheeks if they’re near me. Soft, rosy, little apple cheeks. I ask you daily if I can give you 10, 12, 14 thousand kisses in a day and I don’t believe I’m too far off at the end.

****

Tonight I watched your daddy read a book of first words to you. He sang the words and each time he turned the page, you would tense up with anticipation, then giggle when you saw what came next. It was pure magic.

****

This morning you started to crawl — just a few scooches– but it was clear that your motivation was Lola, and boy, did my pug-loving heart just melt because I really feel that you will love smashed up little dogs as much as your mom (and great Grandma Edie).

****

I am having the time of my life being your mom, so keep on being teeny, wonderful you. You are the piece I didn’t even know I was missing.

Leave a comment