Blueberry Cake with Lemon Glaze {Gluten-Free}

Last week I saw Hey Natalie Jean’s blueberry cake and absolutely had to make it. Hers had a pretty purple huckleberry glaze, but I opted for lemon since I’m not entirely sure where to get my paws on huckleberry syrup at the last minute.

IMG_8287

The cake was an uncomplicated affair, save for the flour/baking powder mixture I had to trash when I swore that twice I saw ‘tbsp’ and not ‘tsp’ … post-nap pregnant me is really something. Luckily I realized this before combining any additional ingredients and saved us all a science experiment of sorts during the baking process.

I threw the lemon glaze together while the cake was baking. A classic Martha Stewart recipe that is fabulous and foolproof.

IMG_8285

Per Natalie’s instruction, I let the cake sit for at least half an hour before pouring on the glaze. Just a little drizzle and smoothing out with a spatula and you’re set. Do make sure that you’re plate has enough of a lip to catch any glaze that might run off the cake.

IMG_8286

The cake reminded me of a blueberry donut and it took whatever willpower I have left to not dig in to a piece for breakfast. And, believe me, willpower feels like a scarce thing at nearly 8 months pregnant.

Blueberry Cake with Lemon Glaze (Inspired by Hey Natalie Jean and Martha Stewart)

Ingredients:

Cake:
2 cups rice flour
2 tsps baking powder
dash salt
2/3 cup olive oil
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups blueberries, lightly coated in flour

Glaze:
2 cups powdered sugar
3-4 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
Directions:
1. Combine flour and baking powder in a medium bowl and sift to combine.
2. Combine oil, sugar, eggs, milk, and vanilla in a separate bowl and whisk until light and creamy.
3. Combine dry ingredients with wet in three parts. Mix well, then add your blueberries lightly coated in flour.
4. Pour batter into a greased cake pan (mine is 9″) and bake at 325 degrees F for 60-70 minutes.
5. While cake is baking, combine powdered sugar with lemon juice and stir to combine. Glaze should be thick, yet pourable.
6. One cake has cooled, run a knife along edges of the pan and flip over onto a cooling rack or plate. Pour glaze over top of cake and smooth with a spatula.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

