Chia Seed Pancakes {Gluten-free and Dairy-free}

Saturdays are for pancaking, because there is not much better than fresh made pancakes (and extra coffee) on Saturdays. And, if you are in the mood to really up your pancaking game, try these pancakes with no refined sugar, dairy or gluten, but plenty of chia seeds. Now, don’t bail on me because you think there’s no freaking way that pancakes with the aforementioned description can taste like anything other than a hockey puck, because you’d be dead wrong.

IMG_5818

These pancakes are light, fluffy, and cinnamony, with just a hint of sweetness. They also pack a fiber-filled punch to your breakfast, which is more than you can ask for from most pancakes.

I found the recipe over at Running on Real Food and will admit I was a teensy bit apprehensive myself. See, I never seem to make the same pancake recipe most of the time and would really like to blame Pinterest for my recipe infidelity. There are just so many good looking recipes out there and the hungry, hungry person inside of me wants to try them all. Also, I was out of eggs and needed something of the vegan persuasion in order to make breakfast happen. However, I did use honey instead of maple syrup in the batter because I was running low on the maple. Where does that leave us with the vegan set? Do most vegans avoid honey because of bees’ rights, or does it differ from vegan to vegan? Enlighten me if you can.

They came together quickly and only require one bowl, which is a-ok in my book. The batter does need to sit for 5-10 minutes so the chia seeds can get to work, and get to work they did. After 10 minutes I had a pancake batter with the perfect consistency.

IMG_5820

Once the cakes cooked to a beautiful golden brown, I topped them with half a sliced banana and pure maple syrup. Then I snuggled back on the couch to finish a Gilmore Girls rerun and cup of coffee no. 2.

Leave a Reply

