Hamburger Soup {Whole30 Approved!}

Happy, happy New Year’s Eve! Us Pals are staying in tonight with a yummy stir-fry and plenty of Netflixy things to watch. In preparation for my second Whole30, which officially starts tomorrow, I have been playing around with some new eats.

This Hamburger Soup, via The Pioneer Woman, was at the top of my list to make and for good reason. It is fantastic!

IMG_4950

Chock full of veggies and protein, this soup was easy to make Whole30 compliant. Always make sure to check your labels for any sneaky additives, especially broths. The original recipe called for beef broth, but I couldn’t find an additive-free one, so I used veggie broth instead. It worked like a charm.

IMG_4956

Oh man, veggies for days. The red potatoes help this soup keep you full and the different textures are so very satisfying. I can’t get enough.

IMG_4964

I see us Pals noshing on a lot of this soup during the next 30 days. If anyone has any must-have paleo eats they want to share, please do! I am trying my best to stay on top of menu planning and not get in a rut this time around.

Also, since it is NYE and resolutions are on the brain, my goal for 2015 isn’t just a Whole30… it’s a whole switch to paleo. I’ve tried before and was not as dedicated as I could have been. The more I’ve read the more I have come to realize this is what’s best for me. There is too much junk in processed food, and from gut to brain, it’s frightening how deeply it messes with us. I want to feel like my best self. So, here’s to a new year and a healthier me!

Hamburger Soup (makes approximately 6 entree servings):

Ingredients
2-2.5 pounds Ground Chuck
1 whole Large Onion, Diced
3 cloves Garlic, Minced
1 can (14.5 Ounce) Can Whole Tomatoes
4 Cups Vegetable Broth
1 whole Orange Bell Pepper, Seeded And Diced
1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Seeded And Diced
1 whole Green Bell Pepper, Seeded And Diced
4 whole Carrots, Peeled And Sliced On The Diagonal
5 whole Red Potatoes, Cut Into Chunks
3 Tablespoons Tomato Paste
1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt (more To Taste)
1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper, More To Taste
2 teaspoons Dried Parsley Flakes
1/2 teaspoon Ground Oregano
1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper (more To Taste)
Preparation Instructions
In a large pot over medium-high heat, brown the meat with the onion and garlic. Remove the pot from the heat and drain off some fat (removed approximately 1/2 cup, but kept the rest).
Return the pot to the heat and add the rest of the ingredients. Stir to combine, then bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, then cover the pot and simmer the soup for 15-20 more minutes, until potatoes are tender but not overly mushy.
Soup should be somewhat thick, but if you’d like it to be more “soupy,” add 1 to 2 cups more broth OR hot water and heat through. Taste and adjust seasonings, adding more salt if needed.

2 thoughts on “Hamburger Soup {Whole30 Approved!}

  1. Awesome post! I enjoyed reading this and of course tried to imagine how this might taste. I might try this recipe one day…Happy New Year to you and Pal!!!

Leave a Reply

