Homemade Pickles + A Whole30 Recap

This weekend has been a real winner. I finished Whole30 (Hallelujah!) and subsequently made two new non-Whole30 recipes. Don’t worry, they’re not a far cry from what I’ve been eating the past month, but do have some much appreciated added sugar.

My brother-in-law sent me a super easy homemade pickle recipe  that makes enough to fill three 32oz jars (full recipe listed below). Pickles for daaayyyyss. An added bonus – I had all the spices on hand minus the fresh dill.

IMG_4466

Combine all those pretty herbs and spices into a pan with the vinegar and water. Bring mixture to a boil and let boil for 10 minutes. While this is coming together, boil enough water in a separate pot to cover the cucumbers. Boil for 1-2 minutes and remove from water. Do not overcook cucumbers, unless you want mushy, squishy pickles… but no one wants that, so keep an eye on the clock.

IMG_4471

Add some sliced onion to your jars before you add the sliced cucumbers. Those little bits are going to be as tasty as the pickles, just you wait.

IMG_4472

Once the herb and spice mixture has had a chance to work its magic on the stove, ladle equal portions into each jar. You want to make sure the taste stays consistent and avoid having a one bland batch and an overly potent batch.

IMG_4477

I opted for chips, but spears work, too! I’m going to be adding mine to Danielle’s Club Sandwich Wraps from her Against All Grain cookbook and Nom Nom Paleo’s Big O Bacon Burgers, so chips were the way to go.

On to the other item worth noting: I FINISHED WHOLE30! I did it, all 30 days (and then fell face-first into a pizza on Day 31, but let’s not talk about that, ok?)

Overall, I am really glad I did it. Some days were better than others, but the month went by pretty fast. I was forced to be more creative in my meal planning and found some really great recipes that I’ll be keeping in rotation. I lost around 8lbs and a few inches and clothes are definitely fitting better 30 days later. I also noticed an overall increase in energy, better quality sleep, and a sharper, clearer mind. The best part of it all was the disappearance of my hives by day 4. That alone would have made the experience worthwhile. Now I know that if I have a reaction like that again, I can cut out all the crap and heal myself relatively quickly. If you’re curious I highly recommend reading the book. There is a ton of valuable information that may change the way you eat for good (or in my case, for the most part).

Pickles!
3 cups water
2 cups white vinegar
1/4 cup salt (preferably kosher salt)
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 tablespoon peppercorns
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves (or 2 whole cloves)
1 bay leaf
2 tablespoons of minced onion (or cut up onion in the jars with cucumbers)
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 1/2 tablespoons of dill (or a bunch of fresh dill)
1/4 teaspoon thyme
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (if you want to add a kick of heat)
3 large cucumbers

Drop cucumbers in a pot of boiling water and boil for 1-2 minutes. Remove from water and slice. Boil all of the other ingredients for 10 or more minutes, then pour the hot liquid into each jar over the cucumbers, making sure to evenly distribute spices. Cover with Saran Wrap overnight at room temp. Cap off jars and refrigerate. Pickles will be ready the day after making.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

