Asian Meatballs + Cauliflower Rice

Happy 4th of July! While this post might not be very patriotic, it sure was delicious. I found the meatball recipe at Nom Nom Paleo. A friend recently turned me on to her blog and I am hooked! I’ve made a few of her dishes now and they have all turned out so well. I even picked up her cookbook at Costco yesterday! The meatball recipe was not included, but there are over 100 recipes that are (and I can’t wait to make them!). Also, for anyone looking to stock up on some great looking gluten-free cookbooks, Costco is the place to go. They had several and I plan on picking up a few more the next time I go.

Also, I’ve had to make my way back to being gluten-free. Since my most recent hives/face swelling episode I have been to an allergist and endocrinologist. It looks like the cause is a sensitivity to thyroid antibodies, which means I am on my way to autoimmune hypothyroidism (or Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis), but not quite there yet. Since my main thyroid levels came back in normal ranges, the endocrinologist said they can’t treat me. So I am going to do my best to heal myself. Gluten, dairy, legumes, and processed foods can aggravate my immune system and potentially increase the risk of a damaged thyroid. I am hoping that eliminating these foods, along with some herbal supplements, can keep my symptoms at bay and reduce the level of antibodies in my bloodstream.

IMG_4390On to the meatballs! These meatballs are jam-packed with veggies, which is a winner in my book. They are also pretty quick to put together, which I think makes them taste even better. 🙂

IMG_4385My food processor is more compact than some, so I minced veggies in two shifts. I only needed about half of the sweet potato (mine were huge), so I minced it first and saved the leftover for sweet potato hash browns that I made this morning (YUM).

IMG_4386Once you mix everything together, make the little meatballs and bake for 15-20 minutes. I went for 20 minutes since my cauliflower rice was still finishing up when the timer went off. Make sure to check at 15, you don’t want to risk drying them out!

IMG_4398There is a cauliflower rice recipe in the cookbook, so I glanced at it while I got mine together. I’ve seen a few recipes, but I like her method best. It’s quick and fool-proof.

IMG_4392Sadly I had already used all my onions, so I didn’t have one to add like her recipe calls for, but nonetheless, it turned out fantastic. I’ve also found that using a blender to ‘rice’ the cauliflower works best for me. I have a Ninja that is fairly powerful and it can handle the whole bunch at once.

IMG_4395Dinner was Pal approved… does that mean I put the Pal in Paleo?? Please say yes.

IMG_4403copyIf you’re looking for a quick dish to take to a BBQ this afternoon, the puppies can easily double as an appetizer!

Asian Meatballs + Cauliflower Rice – Serves 4-6

  • 8 medium fresh shiitake mushrooms, minced
  • 1 medium shallot, minced
  • Âľ cup minced sweet potato
  • 2 tablespoons minced cilantro
  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1½ tablespoons Paleo-friendly fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly-ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil

For the ‘Rice’ (Not Michelle’s cookbook recipe – I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand)

  • One head cauliflower
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (or preferred fat)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • Salt + Pepper

Preheat oven to 375. Mince all veggies and dump in a medium-large bowl (you’ll want enough room to hand-mix all the ingredients, including the meat).

Add the ground beef, fish sauce, tomato paste, salt and pepper. Hand-mix so that all ingredients are well combined, but be careful no to overwork.

Brush a foil-lined baking sheet with coconut oil. Form mixture into balls and place on sheet. (Michelle’s recipe made 36, I came out with 24 since my baking sheet is a little smaller than full-sized).

Bake for 15-20 and serve!

While the meatballs were in the oven I whipped up the ‘rice’.

Heat a large pan or skillet over medium head and add olive oil. Add riced cauliflower, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and sautee until it starts to brown a bit.

Serve with meatballs (and a gluten-free beer if you’re fancy).

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

