Memorial Day Weekend 2014: A Post of Mostly Nothing

This weekend was a little of this, a little of that, and one day longer than normal; which makes it extra lovely in my book.

Not a whole lot happened of note, but I’m going to tell you about it anyway! Aren’t you the luckiest?

Saturday I managed to cart myself to not one grocery store, but three grocery stores. See, it’s getting good already. By the time I cleaned the house, bought food all over town, and whipped up Joy the Baker’s Cherry Pie Bars, I thought I just might be done for the day. But lo, Pals opted for a last-minute movie date and finally saw The Grand Budapest Hotel. It was marvelous, as was the medium popcorn and diet coke combo.

20140526-171549.jpg

Sunday we churched and headed over to our friends’ house for a BBQ. The rain held off long enough for everyone to stuff themselves silly. I think it’s written somewhere that the only way to kickoff the summer is with various grilled meats and mayonnaisey side items.

Today I managed to clock a good 10 hours of sleep (it’s my magic number). After a slow morning, we did various backyard-ish things before the rain rolled in. While Pal trimmed lots of greenery, I:

– checked out the mulberries Lola is currently obsessed with. There are many streaks of purple where I never thought there would be.

20140526-170503.jpg

– bathed both pups – terribly dramatic each time around. Lola shook and looked at me like I’d betrayed in the worst way. Elizabeth swapped cone for bath temporarily and I’m fairly certain considered running away. Alas, they both survived and got to have a treat.

20140526-170417.jpg

– painted my nails and very patriotic shade of red.

– continued to read Nora Ephron’s collection of essays, Crazy Salad & Scribble Scribble, from the comfort of my back deck. The best kind of reading happens on back decks. A little bit of a suntan wouldn’t hurt, either.

20140526-170220.jpg

Pal finished the yard just in time for a fairly theatrical thunderstorm. We took full advantage, opened lots of windows to catch the breeze and started on the final season of Mad men.

Leave a Reply

