Pass the Gluten, Please.

Oh heeeyyy there! I’ve got news (it’s not that kind of news, so just hold your horses). Gluten and I are friends again, real good friends. Last week I mixed up mine and Tex’s pasta (gluten-free for me and gluten-filled for him), which led us to having lunch together (Hooray for working 1/2 a mile apart!) and Tex half-heartedly daring me to give gluten a shot once more. The thought crossed my mind, but I dismissed it since it normally happened when I really wanted some pie. Having Tex say it gave the idea a little more validity. So I did it. I had a piece of toast with dinner and nothing happened. All of my old symptoms had disappeared — no itchiness, stomach pains or puffy face. What the what?? I was blown away.

Image

I tried to pace myself and had a little more gluten each day, and then dove face first in a pizza Friday night. Still, nothing happened! No reaction! I’m thrilled! This has been the most delicious weekend I’ve had in a year and a half. Grilled Brie and tomato sandwiches, veggie quesadillas made with whole wheat tortillas, pizza, everything bagels from the farmers’ market.

I’m not sure why my symptoms have vanished, but I have read about it happening for others. Also, I’m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth, so if you need me, just look for the girl with a loaf of bread in her mouth. 😉

Leave a Reply

