Doodles Daily Eats – Happy Hour

Happy Friday! I ate different food today!

I was really craving a savory breakfast this morning, so Pal and I made omelets. Each had 2 eggs, reduced fat Colby cheese, salsa and sour cream. Creamy, spicy goodness.

20130809-214320.jpg
Lunch, though not identical to yesterday, was fairly similar. Pomegranate Chobani, nuts, and a chopped up gala apple.

20130809-214504.jpg
I snacked on a handful of pumpkin seeds while I waited for the office’s weekly happy hour to commence. I do not always indulge, but today was a special day. We just remodeled and expanded, and this was our first happy hour in the new space. Also, to everyone’s joy, we installed a keg cooler and now have four drafts available for our Friday fun… And there’s even a cider, which is gluten-free.

20130809-214951.jpg
Each week our happy hour, or Gobble + Gab as we call it, is themed. Our theme this week: Peachy Keen! I nibbled on a bit of everything that fell into the gluten-free realm- gummy peach rings, fro-yo, chips with mango-peach salsa, and a cider. I was stuffed after all that, but still managed to hit the gym. 60 minutes on the elliptical, with the first half hour being intervals.

I wasn’t hungry when I got home, so I dropped Pal off and decided to get the grocery shopping out of the way. My main reason for shopping on a Friday night was to make Rice Krispy Treats with brown butter and kosher salt from The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. Pal and I are hitting up a pool party tomorrow and these were requested, by Pal and others.

20130809-215830.jpg
I must note that this was the first time ever that I made Rice Krispy Treats of any kind without actually eating them. Hashtag humblebrag.

Leave a Reply

