Doodles’ Daily Eats – Quinoa Burrito Bowl

Orange is the New Black – Have you seen this? I cannot stop, nor do I want to. We’re ten or eleven episodes in and I know the end is near. Who knew a dramedy about a women’s prison would be so captivating?

Breakfast: more oatmeal! But not before I could spill the majority of the container of steel cut oats all over my kitchen floor. Nobody wants to vacuum at 6:45 a.m. Nobody.

20130807-210850.jpg
Lunch: A cup of coffee and a little later Pear Chobani with an ounce of mixed nuts. There’s a lot of power in this little lunch – 20g of protein!

20130807-211828.jpg
Snack: Cherry Pie Larabar. I was so excited about it I forgot to snap a picture. Love Larabars! Raw, vegan, and gluten-free.

I opted for the elliptical over CrossFit today. 30 minutes of intervals and a some ab work. I was ready to get home, but still wanted to do something active.

Dinner was something else tonight. Quinoa burrito bowls. Simple, fairly quick, and dang delicious. Lots of veggies, protein, and fresh lime and cilantro.

20130807-212945.jpg
I used my cast iron skillet for the veggies – love the char it helps create. Makes me feel authentic.

20130807-213318.jpg
Lime and cilantro help brighten up the quinoa. A splash of citrus does a lot for quinoa. Consider it a must.

20130807-213428.jpg
You’ll be seeing a lot more of this. Healthy, filling, but won’t leave you with that overly stuffed feeling that most Mexican restaurants do.

Quinoa Burrito Bowls: Serves 4
1 cup dry quinoa
1lb trimmed steak (I used the precut fajita steak)
Montreal steak seasoning
1oz Dale’s marinade
2 tbsp olive oil, separated
2 ears corn with kernels cut off
1 red pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
Juice of 1 lime
3 tbsp cilantro, chopped
Salt
1/2 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese, shredded
4 tbsp sour cream
8 tbsp salsa

Marinate steak with Montreal steak seasoning and Dale’s. Let sit while prepping the remaining ingredients.

Bring 2 cups water to a boil. Add quinoa, 1 tbsp olive oil, and reduce heat to medium-low. Cook for approximately 20 minutes, or until water is absorbed. Once quinoa is cooked add cilantro, lime juice and salt.

Once quinoa is cooking, preheat cast iron skillet to medium-high heat. Add 1 tbsp olive oil and cook veggies approximately 15 minutes, or until softened with a slight char.

Grill steak (indoor or outdoor grill is fine) to preferred temperature.

Layer ingredients in 4 bowls and top each with 1oz shredded cheese, 1 tbsp sour cream, and two tablespoons salsa.

Leave a comment