Doodles’ Daily Eats – Back in the Game

Happy Monday! I went into work a little early this morning to help start the process of getting our office back in order. Unpacking and reorganizing is incredibly cathartic for me. Everything is fresh and new again.

Breakfast was much like yesterday’s, but still very delicious. I used the last of the sunflower seed butter Sunday, so this morning I subbed in peanut butter. Peaches are gigantic and perfect right now – I can’t get enough!

20130805-210729.jpg
In between my running around at the office, I warmed up my lunch. Turkey burger with jalapeños, dill relish, reduced fat Colby cheese, and a plum. Pal outdid himself on these burgers. They were juicy, flavorful, and the protein punch I needed.

20130805-211328.jpg
My afternoon snack was a pear Chobani and another plum. I was halfway through my yogurt when I realized I forgot to photograph it… Whoopsie!

All my weekend indulgences had me aching for a good workout. The CrossFit gym I go to posts workouts the night before, which can be good or bad. For me it’s mostly good – I need to know what I’m getting into. However, when the workout looks particularly challenging, it becomes all I think about before I get there. Considering I go after work, I end up dwelling on it most of the day. Today’s workout was a doozy. It was a partner workout, which means that the total reps were split between two people, not including the run at the end.

Pre-WOD we warmed up with a 400m run. At the 100m mark we stopped and completed 30 jumping jacks; at the 200m mark, 10 burpees; and at the 300m mark, 30 air squats.

Once we went over the movements, we grabbed our partners and took on this:
50 dead lifts (35#)
100 hand-release push-ups
50 front squats (35#)
100 box jumps
50 push press (35#)
100 abmat sit-ups
800m run together

My partner and I finished in 29:50… And I almost cried. Side cramp for about 600m of my run? Yeah, that felt great! But I never stopped running and finishing felt damn good.

I made one of my new favorite dishes for dinner when we got home. Gluten-free pasta with roasted tomatoes, a garlicky avocado sauce, and Parmesan cheese. It comes together so well and tastes phenomenal.
I roasted the tomatoes at 450 for approximately 20 minutes and seasoned them with olive oil, kosher salt, pepper, and dried basil. While they were roasting I cooked the pasta and made the sauce. The sauce is completely raw and vegan. Two avocados, three cloves of garlic, two tablespoons olive oil, juice of half a lemon, salt and pepper. Blend in your food processor until smooth.

20130805-214642.jpg
I sprinkled 2oz of shredded Parmesan cheese onto each plate. The recipe serves four, so while I was plating mine and Pal’s dinners, I went ahead and packed our lunches for tomorrow. Look at me saving time. 🙂

20130805-214856.jpg
Hope your weeks are all off to a great start!

**I’ve seen a couple recipes for similar pasta dishes and this one is a modification of the one from Oh She Glows.

Leave a Reply

