Doodles’ Daily Eats – Weekend Warrior

This weekend may have gotten the better of me. Lots to do, not a ton of time at home, and no time to workout today. Every day can’t be perfect, I suppose. Good thing there’s tomorrow!

Last night we celebrated the city of Smyrna’s birthday with lots of friends, food, and fireworks. The gluten-free options were limited, leaving my dinner to chicken-on-a-stick and kettle corn. The kettle corn was not originally apart of the plan, but once I popped, I couldn’t stop. Salty, buttery, sweet devil, that kettle corn. The chicken, however, was pretty awesome. Well-seasoned and hot off the grill.

20130804-202528.jpg
Pal and I were up and at ’em bright and early this morning to help coordinate the first service at church. Before heading out the door I made us steel cut oats with cinnamon, sunflower seed butter and half a peach.

20130804-205311.jpgI came home for a quick lunch before heading downtown to help set up a party my company was putting on. More grilled chicken, veggies, and a small side of mashed potatoes. I topped the chicken with a little bit of mustard barbecue sauce. There are more dishes to come this week, outside of grilled chicken. Pinky swear.

20130804-203219.jpg
Having not slept well last night, and feeling punchy (to say the least), I stopped by Starbucks this afternoon for the biggest latte I could get my hands on. Oddly, two hours before, I had told my Sunday school class that it had probably been a year since I had gone to a Starbucks. I’m pretty much over paying $5 for a coffee, but today I could not resist. I needed caffeine and I needed a lot of it… And it was good.

20130804-203758.jpg
For working on a Sunday, my coworkers and I managed to have a pretty great time. A few hundered balloons were blown up and tied all over the rooftop of a bar overlooking downtown Atlanta (and I have a stellar farmer’s tan to prove it).

After all our balloons were tied we all went downstairs to grabs a drink and some snacks. Luckily we all shared, so the damage wasn’t totally, completely detrimental. Lets hope being on my feet all day helped counteract a bit of it all, too. In addition to the snacks I had a couple ciders. Very refreshing after spending an August afternoon on a rooftop.

20130804-204824.jpg
So there’s my weekend, in all it’s imperfect glory… And here’s to a better week ahead!

 

3 thoughts on “Doodles’ Daily Eats – Weekend Warrior

Leave a Reply

