Doodles’ Daily Eats – Saturday Edition!

Here is a partial look at what I’ve been eating and doing this Saturday. Pal and I are meeting some friends for an outdoor concert later and I know that by the time we get home, I’ll be ready for bed.

Breakfast this morning was a homemade gluten-free cinnamon waffle with peanut butter. I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake mix and cut the recipe in half. I was out of almond milk so I substituted half and half. The waffles were a little more dense than usual, but still good.

20130803-144826.jpg
After breakfast I had to drop my car off to have the breaks serviced. They needed to keep my car for a couple of hours so I walked to the LA Fitness next door and got my workout out of the way. I started off with weights and completed three rounds of 10 squats and three rounds of 10 dead lifts, using a 30 pound bar for both exercises. I used a few weight machines for legs and abs and ended with 30 minute intervals on the elliptical.

I still had time to kill after the gym so I walked over to Publix to pick up my groceries for the week. Sometimes it’s really nice to not deal with the crowds at the DeKalb Farmers’ Market, but I am always disappointed by the produce at chain grocery stores. Twice the price for much less flavor.

Pal picked me up from the store and we went home to make lunch before I picked up my car. Grilled chicken, baked sweet potato, corn and peas. We used a garlic and lime marinade for the chicken, along with a little Montreal steak seasoning. Pretty tasty!

20130803-145553.jpg
Now I am off to finish cleaning up the house before we leave to meet our friends. I managed to find gluten-free beer at Publix, which means I can enjoy a couple of theose tonight at the concert. We will probably grab something to eat after the concert – lots of great little restaurants nearby. I’ll be sure to recap what happens tonight in tomorrow’s post.

20130803-145812.jpg
Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

