Doodles’ Daily Eats

We are starting some new things around here. And by we I mean me. And by here I mean this ol’ blog.

In three months and three days, I will marry my best friend. Something about that ever-shrinking amount of time has lit a real fire under you-know-where to take my eating and exercise habits really seriously. I want to look and feel damn good on that date… and I want to look back in 30 years and think the same thing. So, for the next three months (and three days), I will be using my blog as a platform for recording my eats, exercises, and all that falls in between. Hopefully it doesn’t end in three months… but one thing at a time, now.

Image

Breakfast was reduced fat cottage cheese with half a peach, half an apple, and coffee with organic creamer. I’m not usually one for cottage cheese, but a week or so ago I was compelled to buy five pounds (POUNDS) of it at Sam’s Club. It’s not bad, but Pal won’t touch the stuff. On the bright side, it is very low carb and pretty high protein.

Image

No picture to prove it, but mid-morning I had a handful (and a half) of mixed nuts. These are almost always my go-to quick fix. Lunch was a lighter portion Nutty Mixed-Up Salad from Jason’s Deli with balsamic vinaigrette. Total perfection and just the right size.

Image

Pre-CrossFit I noshed on gluten-free cheddar Nut Thins with Garlic + Herb Laughing Cow Wedges. I like the cheddar Nut Thins, but the pecan crackers are where it’s at.

CrossFit was one heck of a beast tonight. Inspired by the recent CrossFit Games, we really had our work cut out for us. Are WOD was as follows:

10 Rounds for time:
200m run
3 muscle-ups
200m run

I subbed my muscle-ups for 2:1 ring dips (deficit only) and pull-ups (with two bands). I finished in 48:30. We also had a 400m run in our warm-up, which totaled our miles at 2.75, in addition to the 60 ring dips and 60 pull-ups. I desperately want to be a stronger runner, and this was a good place to start. The workout was hard, but it felt so satisfying to finish (and I was even a little giddy on the way home).

Image

Needless to say, I was starving by the time I got home. I had already cooked gluten-free pasta on hand, so I threw that in the oven with grape tomatoes, fresh garlic, dried basil, olive oil, red wine vinegar, and Parmesan cheese. It was ridiculously good. The roasted tomatoes tasted like candy. It totally hit the spot.

Well, that was my day. The pictures aren’t perfect (and not taken with my pretty, pretty Canon), but they’re here and I’m here. So, let’s do this – healthy, delicious, and hard working.

2 thoughts on “Doodles’ Daily Eats

  1. Putting your eats and exercises in writing is a good way to hold yourself accountable, I agree, but also know that no matter what, you will be a BEAUTIFUL bride and Tex will have all eyes on you on that special day.

Leave a Reply

