Juice Cleanse: Day 1

IMG_3035

Ladies and gents, the juice cleanse has begun! I’m nearing my dinner juice of day one and am feeling alright. The day, as a whole, has not been bad. My energy has been up and I haven’t experienced any negative side effects other than some shakiness around 3pm. I whipped up a nice snack juice and was feeling fine in minutes. As my blood sugar has shown me, I think I’ll do best if I have a juice every 3-4 hours. A 6-7 hour stretch between lunch and dinner will not do. I even made it through brunch, only staring longingly at Pal’s grits.

My juice recipes have been pretty similar throughout the day, with a few ingredient changes to keep things from being boring. I could use a little more sweet, and may pick up some fruits of the more tropical variety later in the week. (I do have some frozen fruit I’d been putting in smoothies… would thawing and juicing the frozen fruit offer much nutritional benefit, or would it just be a waste of time?)

Breakfast: (Today I split this with Pal, tomorrow I will probably have this portion myself, sans beet and less ginger.)
1 cucumber
2 celery stalks
2 apples
1 bunch of kale
1/2 lemon
1 beet
1″ ginger root

Lunch:
1 ruby red grapefruit
2 oranges
1 carrot
1 apple
1 celery stalk
1 bunch spinach

Snack:
1 ruby red grapefruit
1 orange
1 apple
1/2 bunch spinach

Dinner: (My favorite so far.)
1 orange
4 carrots
1 red pepper
1 apple
1/2 lemon
1/2 bunch spinach
1/2 bunch parsley

2 thoughts on “Juice Cleanse: Day 1

Leave a Reply

