Gluten-Free Spaghetti + Meatballs

In a perfect world, I wouldn’t have to start dinner a dinner that I want to photograph at 8:30pm. In a more organized world, I would have a tripod in my possession to make the most of the non-existent light at 8:30pm. At this point in my life, I can’t always make dinner in daylight nor do I own a tripod (yet). So, for those nights where it’s nearing 9:00pm before dinner is plated and you’re so tired you consider skipping eating altogether, you reach for what’s easy. Foolproof. Instagramable.

It always seems like such a cop out, but on crazy busy days, it’s what I can offer you. I can also offer you gluten-free spaghetti and meatballs. While I didn’t make the pasta, I did make the gluten-free meatballs. To make up for the Italian breadcrumbs I would normally use, I upped the spice to keep them from being bland.

I’ve been using my handy dandy ebeskiver pan in my meatball making for some time. It makes even browning a cinch and makes portioning simple. For gluten-free meatballs without a substitute binding ingredient, this pan worked miracles. As it turns out, egg alone will not a meatball make. Very slippery and needed the mold the pan provided to keep shape. I’m stopping there before this gets gross.

The spaghetti noodles were my first foray into the world of packaged gluten-free foods. I went with Ancient Harvest corn and quinoa noodles and loved them! Tex even tried a bite and thought they were great. (Pal approved, yet again!)

Gluten-Free Turkey Meatballs:

1 lb ground turkey
1 egg
1 tbsp Worcestershire
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp dried parsley
1/4 onion, chopped
garlic salt
pepper
olive oil cooking spray

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and work to combine. Form into equal sized balls.

Heat an ebelskiver pan (or large skillet) over medium heat and spray with cooking spray. Cook until meatballs are cooked through. Serve over your favorite gluten-free pasta and sauce (I went with Prego).

One thought on “Gluten-Free Spaghetti + Meatballs

Leave a Reply

