Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am, without a shadow of a doubt, one of those people who will fall for anything pumpkin. You offer me a pumpkin spiced/laced/infused anything and I’ll take it. I’m a sucker for seasonal treats and I’m okay with that.

When the universe isn’t offering  me enough pumpkin-based items I make my own. I take that delicious, healthy pumpkin puree and make it into a chocolate chip cookie. Then I dust it with powdered sugar.

I liked them best served warm… the chocolate gets all gooey and the whole deal tastes like a cookie/muffin hybrid. It’s a soft, fluffy heaven.

Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Cookies (inspired by Joy the Baker)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
12 oz bag dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices together in a medium bowl and set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar on medium speed until smooth and lightened in color, about 1 minute. Scrape the sides of the bowl if needed during mixing. On low speed, mix the oil, applesauce, pumpkin, and vanilla until blended. Add int he flour and mix to incorporate, then add in the chips.

Using a 1/4 cup-sized scoop, scoop batter and leave at least 2 inches in between each cookie (these babies are big!).

Leave a Reply

