Saucy.

I believe in spaghetti. There are healing powers in a good spaghetti and meatball dinner, but only if there is equally as good garlic bread alongside it. While I feel that I have mastered garlic bread and meatballs, something about making my own sauce seemed terrifying. Sauce can make or break spaghetti, there is no doubt about it. What if my sauce turned out like the orange, greasy, separated mess that was dished out in the school cafeteria? I cringe at the thought of it–as a child, as an adult, forever. If it’s not like mama made, I won’t have it.

I decided to break past my fear this weekend and give homemade spaghetti sauce a try. I looked over a few recipes online and all in all, it looked fool-proof. What had I been waiting for? I settled on a Mario Batali recipe, with a few tweaks along the way.

The steps were simple, but I let my sauce cook a lot longer than suggested. The recipe said 45 minutes, but I left mine on super-low heat for a couple of hours. (I like my sauce thick! No watery, oily goop here.)


The recipe was simple and perfect for this first-timer. Heat some oil, add in garlic and onions for a bit, throw in spices and carrots, then add the canned tomatoes and juices. Let it all cook down to your preferred thickness, and there you have it, homemade spaghetti sauce.

Since having just sauce for dinner would be downright silly, I added some whole wheat spaghetti noodles, turkey meatballs (perfected by the Ebelskiver pan), and crazy good garlic bread. Add in a crisp fall evening with the windows open, and said dinner reaches a whole new level of awesome. Spaghetti nirvana, is that a thing?

One thought on “Saucy.

Leave a Reply

