Getting Funky, or Getting Out of a Funk.

Some weeks are harder than others. Some weeks are way harder than others. These weeks seem to bring with them foggy heads that are in constant need of a nap, the inability to carry on conversations (especially in the workplace), and a severe lack of motivation. When these weeks strike, it takes all you have to get dressed and out the door in the morning. Luckily all weeks have to end, which leaves us with the weekend. Sometimes just knowing that the weekend is just a few weeks away is enough to get us through. Sometimes you need more distraction to help you forget the funk. This week, I have needed distraction in all forms, from all corners of the earth.
Here are a few of the things that have gotten me to Friday. In hindsight, maybe the week wasn’t so bad after all:

Podcasts:
Maybe I’m 6 or 7 years behind on the awesomeness that is podcasts, but who cares? Better late than never on that one. Well, for the sake of total honesty, I subscribed to a Grey’s Anatomy podcast in 2007 that I never listened to. Back to real life; during a very long drive home I decided to try out a podcast from one of my all-time favorite bloggers, Joy the Baker. She’s joined by her friend Tracy, of Shutterbean.com, and these ladies are hi-larious. Totes amaze and all around silly. It’s like overhearing a conversation you’d have with your best friend. You can find all things JTB & Shutts podcast here.

Even if you listen just to get the theme song stuck in your head.

On a more serious note, another podcast I’ve been loving this week is ‘Your Move’ with Andy Stanley. He is the pastor at Northpoint Church in Alpharetta and has a weekly podcast about all sorts of good stuff. Good thought provoking, soul food kind of stuff. Plus, it’s only 30 minutes, so you can get your feel-good on the way to work.

Real. Good. Stuff.

Yoga (of the hot and sweaty variety):

I’ve always been intrigued by yoga, particularly of the bikram persuasion. I’ve dabbled here and there, but it was always too expensive to make a regular habit. A couple of weeks ago Groupon came out with a deal for 20 classes at Red Hot Yoga. I snatched it up and now, I am 1000% hooked. They even have an unlimited monthly pass that I can fit in the budget! It’s the most exciting thing to happen to me in a while. I mean, who doesn’t want to contort themselves in a room heated to 105 degrees, thick with at least 40% humidity? In just a couple of weeks I have noticed significant progress. Some practices are better than others, but even when I’m wobbling all over my mat, I still manage to skate the edge just a little more and push myself that much further. I genuinely look forward to my next class, which is not the norm for me and exercise. Being the baby yogi that I am, I have so much to aspire to, and I love that.

Bikram.

Fancy Peanut Butter:

I love peanut butter. Turns out, I really love fancy peanut butter. With cinnamon and raisins, on wheat, with reduced sugar raspberry jam. A fresh peach on the side makes the whole thing complete. This has been my lunch every day this week, and I can’t remember the last time I got that excited over a sandwich. It’s life changing. The Peanut Butter Co. (the geniuses behind this product), also have a maple peanut butter that I can’t wait to get my paws on.

Life changing.

Now that this downer of a week is coming to a close, I can finally focus on a weekend filled with very little. A little yoga, a little baking, and a good bit of pal time.

Leave a Reply

