3.1 and done (well, for that one)

I have a love/hate relationship with running. I want to love it, but there’s not a more humbling activity for me. As a healthy, young woman, I feel like I should be able to throw on my running shoes and take off out the front door. Not so. Running, like most good things, requires time and patience (at least for me).

A week and a half ago, I committed myself to a 10k training program. By day 3 I had already forgotten to cross train (though I had two decent treks on the treadmill under my belt). Then came Thursday, with a side stitch that wouldn’t quit. Friday, which was supposed to be my rest day, was a make-up run. Saturday I stayed on schedule with yoga and cross training, but Sunday I knew was going to cause me trouble. Not that excuses are going to get anyone anywhere, but I foresaw my Sunday. I got up early to help make biscuits for church and was way more tired after than I had planned. I took a nap, but was in super-lazy mode the rest of the day. There was no getting me out of that groggy, worthless state that is only good for watching bad tv. So, another run was pushed to the next day. (Truth be told, I was nervous about not being able to run all 3 miles, and I know that wasn’t helping motivate me whatsoever.) Well, if you read my last post, you know that run didn’t happen either.

But it did happen last night. And it was awesome. I managed to wrap my head around this thing called patience and started off slow. I was feeling so good I added in an extra tenth of a mile to make it a 5k. Now, for some of you lucky folk, running is second nature. It’s never been that way for me, but I feel like I’m starting to get there. 3ish miles is the farthest I’ve ever run without stopping, so I am soon to be in uncharted territory, and I’m pretty excited.

Below are a few items that help to keep me motivated… one of which I will buy once I finish this 10k training program.

Womens ASICS GEL-Lyte33 Running Shoe

Run: Speed Short

RUN: In The Rain Jacket

Daily Tank

2 thoughts on “3.1 and done (well, for that one)

  1. That is awesome Julie! I actually love running, but unfortunately, my left knee and my back does not. Enjoy it while you’re young!

Leave a Reply

