Peanut Butter is Love.

A couple of weeks ago I volunteered my sweet baking skills (pun intended) for a cookout our friends were hosting. I wasn’t sure what to make, but wanted to make something that was, if nothing else, a crowd pleaser. With little inspiration of my own, I hopped on over to Joy the Baker and discovered her Oatmeal Sandwich Cookies with Creamy Peanut Butter Filling. Enough said. There was no turning back. My only substitute was a ripe banana for the egg. This isn’t something I would have normally done, but that morning had begun with a post-breakfast allergic reaction, and egg was on that list. As it turns out, the reaction was not to eggs, and more likely induced by anxiety. Fun times.

I was pleasantly surprised by the banana substitute. The cookies were fluffy, slightly chewy, and had a very nice banana flavor. Oh, and I excitedly realized mid mix that an egg-free cookie batter was all too safe to consume raw. And consume I did. (Don’t worry cookie eaters, not double dipping.) Had I stopped here, the cookies may have passed as a ‘healthy’ dessert. But I didn’t stop there; I made peanut butter frosting to smear in between them. I’m willing to bet that most any food can only taste better by adding peanut butter. I could be wrong, but I’d like to think not. Per usual, Joy the Baker came through for me. The cookies were a hit and paired nicely with the other dessert of the evening–a Reese’s Peanut Butter Bar dish. It was incredible and I hope to make it soon.

‘Nanas in the mix.

My elegant pecan-smashing method. A dish cloth under the nuts will help save your counter top from damage.

Cinnamony.

Oh man.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter is Love.

Leave a Reply

