Go Green! It’s all the rage, you know.

I was inspired to go greener than I like to think I am, at least in the way of breakfast. One of my favorite bloggers, Jen over at Peanut Butter Runner, started a 7-day Green Monster Smoothie challenge this week, and I jumped on board. I have been tempted to try one of the many recipes I’ve seen, but it’s kinda hard to get past all that green and believe that it really does taste good. Well, it does. They’re awesome. And you can’t. taste. the. veggies. Cross my heart and pinkie swear.

My first smoothie came from Joy the Baker and it was phenomenal. (To be honest, I don’t think this girl can make a recipe that’s less than amazing.) The following day, I made essentially the same smoothie, but eliminated the honey. It was sweet enough with out it and I figured I’d save a few calories. This morning’s smoothie was a little different, but still just as delish (and so rich that I saved half of it for lunch!) Recipe to follow.

Frozen bananas--better than ice cubes!

Veggies!

Smoothie for two.

Green is fabulous.

Green Monster Smoothie {Juliedoodles Style}: Serves 2

2 c fresh kale (stems removed)
1 cup fresh spinach
1 banana, frozen (word of advice, don’t freeze with peel on… unless you like peeling a partially defrosted slimefest.)
1/2 avocado
2 strawberries
8 blackberries
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Throw the above in a blender and blend until smooth.

Nutritional Stats (per serving)
220 cals, 8.5g fat (all good avocado fat!), 36.5g carbs, 19g sugar, 12g fiber, 5g protein

 

6 thoughts on “Go Green! It’s all the rage, you know.

  1. If you take out the banana and add some vanilla protien powder, ground flax seed and 1/2 a mango it’s reallllly yummy! I sometimes dont use the mango and also add cinnamon and cardamom!!

  2. Julie, green smoothies are delicious! I make one with mango, peaches and banana. Divine. If you freeze your bananas, just pop them in the microwave for 45 seconds. You end up squeezing the banana out of the peel, which is now goopy but so great for making smoothies!

  3. I like that you used avocado in your smoothie. I’m doing the challenge too and have been trying to be more adventurous with my greens but so far it’s spinach plus other things.

Leave a Reply

