Apple-Walnut Zucchini Bread (and a lesson in time-management)

Have I mentioned my issues with time-management? I feel like I should have, at this point in the game. It’s what keeps me from keeping this blog as consistent as I’d like. I’d also like to blame it for my unshakeable urge to get in my pajamas the second I walk in the house. Next thing I know, I’m two blankets deep on the couch, watching whatever my dvr has to offer and flicking through Pintrest on my phone, simultaneously no less. Then there is no turning back. It can be anytime after work that this happens, whether I go to the gym or not. Call it whatever you want–poor time-management skills, a mild case of couch potato, laziness? Whatever it is, it’s not pretty. I’m hoping the longer bits of daylight will help (it did today!), combined with the willpower to stay away from the couch a night or two during the week.

With this new-found energetic spirit, I bring you a healthy and hearty breakfast bread recipe (fruit! veggies! protein! fiber!) It’s dense, delicious, and would go really well with some peanut butter or Greek yogurt. We ate it warmed up with a spritz or two of Smart Balance’s buttery spray (please don’t ever tell me if this stuff is bad for me, I couldn’t handle the news). Next time around I want to kick it up a notch or two in the flavor department. It wasn’t bland, but it seems really versatile and easy to add to. I erred on the side of caution since I was creating this recipe as I went along, but it’s nice to know that next time I’ll have room to be more creative.

Apple-Walnut Zucchini Bread (Serves 8):

Ingredients:
3 cups whole wheat flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup pure cane sugar
2.5 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 medium zucchini squash (approx 3 cups grated), drained
1 apple, grated
1 tsp olive oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 tsp baking soda
dash salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2.5 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350. In the bowl of an electric mixer, whisk together eggs, sugar, and vanilla. Add zucchini, apple, olive oil, and applesauce–mix to combine. Add baking soda and salt–mix to combine. Add nutmeg cinnamon, and walnuts–mix to combine. Add flour, one cup at a time, and mix on low until well combined. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Be sure to poke in two or three spots, this bread is dense and can easily mask an uncooked spot.

Nutritional info (per serving):
275 calories, 6g fat, 51g carbs, 17g sugar, 7g fiber, 8g protein

Leave a Reply

