Whole Wheat Blueberry-Orange-Cranberry Buttermilk Muffins

It’s becoming clear that I love orange in everything. It’s incredibly versatile, which makes messing with it so great. I promised my bible study class some muffins recently and wanted to make something delicious, as well as use up the last bit of buttermilk I had in the fridge. I compared a few recipes I saw online and came up with my own. I wanted to incorporate more orange than one recipe had to offer, so I used o.j. for half the liquid I needed. I was worried that it might curdle the buttermilk, but as luck (or chemistry) would have it, that was not the case. The muffins were fluffy, moist, and got rave reviews! I’ll be making them again soon, but want to eliminate some of the oil.

Batter up.

Dense + Delish

Muffin Tops Welcome Here

Ingredients:

2 3/4c whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
Zest of one large orange
1 egg
1/2c reduced-fat buttermilk
1/2c orange juice
1/2 c vegetable oil1 tsp vanilla
2c blueberries
1c orange-flavored dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 375, In the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt on low. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, buttermilk, orange juice, vanilla, and zest. Again, on low, carefully fold blueberries and cranberries into dry ingredients. Add in wet ingredients until just incorporated. Fill paper-lined muffin cups until almost full and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until golden.

Leave a Reply

