Let’s Have a Ball and a Biscuit, Sugar.

I regret to inform you, but this Saturday is also going to be sans ebelvskivers. It’s an outrage, I say; but, it’s not by choice. I have to work. (On a Saturday!? What the?! I know, I know, it’s criminal, but I do appreciate your sympathy.) Since there is no time for prefect, puffy pancakes, I leave you with biscuits. Homemade, whole wheat, cheddar-laced biscuits.Oh, and don’t let anyone make you believe you need a biscuit cutter. A pint glass works perfectly. I had a moment of mini-panic thinking I needed a 2.5″ metal ring, and then the love-child of MacGyver and Martha emerged to save the day once more. I think I need to name her.

A one-bowl mixture, so simple.

Kneaded and ready to cut.

Pint glass cut biscuits.

Fluffy and fabulous.

Even better when topped with eggs... and more cheese.

Whole wheat cheddar biscuits (makes 6):

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour, plus more for kneading
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 egg
1/3 cup milk

Directions:
Preheat oven to 450. In a mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Cut in shortening until mixture is coarse and crumbly. Add in the egg and milk, beat until combined.

Move dough to a well-floured surface and dust with additional flour. Knead 10-15 times and roll out to 3/4″ thick and cut with whatever you have that is approximately 2.5″ in diameter.

Bake for 8-10 minutes and try to just eat two…

Leave a Reply

