Giving Thanks, With Pie.

Yesterday I was fortunate enough to have an early Thanksgiving dinner with friends. We decided a potluck-style dinner would be best, which Tex later dubbed the ‘greatest hits album of Thanksgiving dinners’. And it was. Everything that was made was incredible and what’s more is, we were sent home with a bag full of leftovers! Dinner is going to be amazing, or you might say, the encore performance to last night’s show.

I came with two dishes (and wine) in tow. My first dish was the classic green bean casserole. I honestly cannot consider a holiday meal a success without it. It’s nothing of the foodie persuasion; the recipe comes off the back of the French fried onion container, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. My second dish, which took a little more time and effort, was Emeril Lagasse’s Pecan-Chocolate Chip Pie, via Martha Stewart and I didn’t dare change a thing (except pair it with homemade cinnamon whipped cream). The holidays are about indulgence (well, just a little) and I wanted this pie to be all that it could be, real butter and chocolate chips included.

Overall, the pie was pretty easy to make. I have made pecan pie before, even a pecan-pumpkin pie hybrid, but never chocolate pecan. It was all I hoped for– rich, nutty, chocolatey and sweet, but not overly so. The cinnamon whipped cream was light, sweet, and spiced, without taking away from the pie’s flavor. I think this pie recipe will be made again, next time with homemade crust.

There are a few things I would do differently next time, but I do not think making this pie ‘healthier’ is an option. It’s loaded with brown sugar and light corn syrup, and I don’t think there’s much that can be done in the way of substitutes there. Even if there are, I may not be interested in finding out what they are. This pie is like skipping work and going on a shopping spree and I think that making it any less indulgent would be insulting. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

