Borrowed from Blogs: Part II

It’s been a long time since I updated my little blog. So long in fact, it took me a few moments to reacquaint myself with my blogging homepage. No more, I say. I think about this blog, and what I’d like to add to it, way too much to neglect it like I have been.

Enough of that, onto another delicious, blog-inspired eat. I love Smitten Kitchen so much so that it has become my go-to baked goods blog. And this girl likes to bake. Most recently I made a slightly altered version of her pumpkin muffins. The perfect coffee companion. Petite, yet dense and satisfying.

The modifications I made were partly out of convenience, partly out of health. I substituted the all-purpose flour for whole wheat, vegetable oil for olive oil, cut back on the sugar, and added in some nutmeg in lieu of pumpkin spice. Next time I may play with the recipe even more– less sugar, maybe a few nuts, cranberries, or raisins? We shall see.

Pumpkin!All in the mix



Pumpkin Muffins: (serves 12)

1 1/2 c whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin (from a 15 ounce can)

1/3 cup olive oil

2 large eggs

1 cup sugar, plus a dash mixed with cinnamon in a separate dish

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350. Spray muffin pan with olive oil based non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, whisk together pumpkin, oil, eggs, cinnamon, nutmeg,  sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth, then whisk in flour mixture until just combined.

Divide batter among muffin cups so that each cup is 3/4 full, then sprinkle tops with cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean (approximately 20 minutes).

Cool on a baking rack. Run a knife around the perimeter of each cup so that muffin comes out without breaking. You can use muffin cups to eliminate this step if you like.

Nutrition Stats (per serving)

193 calories; 6.8g fat; 31.1g carbs; 21.5g sugar; 2g fiber; 3g protein

**Another sign I have stayed away from my blog for far too long? My last recipe was also muffins. Oops! Very different, so  less of a faux pas?

Leave a Reply

