Recipe of the Week: Borrowed from Blogs, Part I

I love being inspired and lately that inspiration has come by the way of blogs I stumble across. Lucky for me, a lot of these inspiring blogs contain fantastic recipes that I can’t help but try. Some recipes I follow from start to finish, but a lot of them I alter. I enjoy changing and making a recipe my own, part of the reason being to see how much of a ‘cook’ I really am. When I tweak a recipe and it comes out well, I get a little rush very similar to solving a difficult math problem.

So, my first ‘Borrowed from Blogs’ recipe is from Peanut Butter Runner. Hers looked delicious as shown, but I had a craving for chocolate so I added two tablespoons of dark chocolate cocoa powder to the mix, as well as some buttermilk that I had on hand. I made them last night and it took a lot of willpower to wait until breakfast to try a bite. They turned out great! The dark chocolate cocoa was a nice touch without adding calories or sugar, plus the banana made them incredibly moist. Needless to say, I am looking forward to breakfast tomorrow and more overripe bananas in my future!

Fresh from the oven:o)

Breakfast for two Dark Chocolate-Banana Muffins: (serves 6)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons dark chocolate cocoa powder

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 ripe banana, mashed

1/4 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt

1 oz buttermilk

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Cooking spray or muffin liners

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare muffin pan by spraying with cooking spray or using liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, sugar, cocoa, salt and baking soda. In a separate bowl, mix together banana, yogurt, egg, buttermilk, and vanilla. Fold banana mixture into dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

Bake for 18-22 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Nutrition Stats: (per serving)

128 calories; 2.4g fat; 24g carbs; 14g sugar; 1.6g fiber; 6g protein

Leave a Reply

