Recipe of the Week! Blueberry Pie

I love pies, especially the fruit-filled varieties. I love baking them, but for whatever reason I have yet to master the perfect, easy-to-handle crust. They rip while I’m rolling them out, they rip when I am trying to get them off of my rolling sheet, and they rip while I’m trying to lattice the top half. It is so frustrating and I hate when one of my favorite hobbies puts me in a foul mood, even if just for a few minutes. I have bought my fair share of pre-made crusts, but I always feel like I’m cheating. In the end, my pies usually turn out well, but I would love to master this one crucial aspect of the perfect homemade pie. So, to any pie crust connoisseurs, I welcome your tips, tricks, and secrets you might be wiling to share.

Defrosting blueberries

Semi-homemade crust

Pre-lattice

Lattice crusts are my favorite!

Better than a pop tart... by far.

No complaints!

Classic Blueberry Pie (serves 8.)

Ingredients:

5 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen

3/4 cup sugar

3 tbsp cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

9 inch double pie crust ( I made my own with a just-add-water boxed version.)

1 tbsp butter

Non-stick cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F

Mix sugar, cornstarch, salt, and cinnamon, and sprinkle over blueberries.

Spray pie dish with non-stick cooking spray and line dish with one pie crust. Pour berry mixture into the crust, and dot with butter. Cut remaining pastry into 1″ inch wide strips (thinner if you prefer), and make lattice top. Crimp and flute edges.

Bake pie on lower shelf of oven for about 50 minutes, or until pie is golden brown. (My pie browned approximately 30 minutes in, but I covered with foil and baked for the additional 20 minutes.)

I apologize for another not-so-healthy treat so soon… but this occasion called for a fun summer dessert and I cannot resist the opportunity to bake a pie. I just can’t. I’m sparing you all the nutritional info on this one. It’s not as bad as the Hummingbird cake, but it’s not healthy whatsoever. Just bake, eat, and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

