Recipe of the Week!

Ok, so I think Mondays will be the official ‘Recipe of the Week’ post day. It’s usually my lesser busy day off.

For my first recipe, it’s a healthy and all-natural Cinnamon Apple Oatmeal. It may not seem too exciting, but you would be surprised at how much crap the instant packages can contain. Plus,in my opinion, they are never filling. For this recipe I used a multi-grain hot cereal, organic clover honey, salt and sugar-free Valencia peanut butter, and an apple baked only with water, cinnamon and nutmeg. I was a little wary about the apple because every recipe I saw used butter and some sort of sweetener. I baked it the day before so that I could have time for a re-do, which I luckily didn’t need, and to save time in the morning. All in all, it turned out really well. (Tex liked it too!) I think I may try it with a baked pear this week.

Cinnamon and nutmeg... delish!

Yummy, easy, and quick multi-grain cereal.

The final product! Baked apple and peanut butter oatmeal drizzled with honey.

Last but not least, here is the recipe.

Oatmeal with baked apple, peanut butter and honey: (serves 2)

Ingredients:
1 apple, quarter after baking

1 cup multi-grain hot cereal

1 tbsp salt and sugar-free Valencia peanut butter, divided

1 tbsp organic clover honey, divided

Core apple and cover approximately 1/3 of apple with water. Sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg.

Bake apple at 350 until soft, approximately 35 minutes. Flip apple over halfway through for even cooking. (I bake the apple the night before to save time in the a.m.!)

Cook cereal according to package directions and divide amongst 2 bowls.

Add 1/2 tbsp peanut butter, 1/4 apple, and 1/2 tbsp honey. Stir to combine and enjoy!

Nutrition stats (per serving): 280 calories, 8g fat, 43g carbs, 15g sugar, 7g fiber, 10g protein

4 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week!

  1. This sounds delicious! I will look forward to trying it soon. I like your recipe of the week post being on Mmmmmmm . . . . Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

